Weekly Wrap-Up: June 14 – June 20, 2021

Weekly Wrap-Up: June 14 – June 20, 2021

Books Png vectors by Lovepik.com

Hello, readers 🙂
Another week has gone by. Time really flies fast, don’t they? It’s time for another weekly-wrap up 🙂

I got to do a lot of reading this week and was blessed with some great reads which helped to keep my motivation up throughout the week.

I was a bit preoccupied at the end of the week and momentarily lost my mojo though; of all places, a couple of sparrows decided to nest just above my veranda, and I was busy contacting Community Service Council to relocate the nest, I was listless until I saw it safely removed from my veranda!
I wouldn’t have minded if I were living in a house of my own not in an apartment complex, but with neighbors on both sides, I had to consider noises from birds chirping (it’s quite soothing I imagine but some do mind early morning chirping) and droppings … my veranda is now sparrow-free, but they obviously still remember the place where they were making their nest, and I found a few twigs and leaves on my veranda this morning. Given how many times I had to shoo them away this morning, I now wonder how do I keep them at bay while I am away at work… it would be fine at weekends when I am home, but I spend a lot of time away from home. They are bound to come back and I don’t really relish the idea.
Hmm… I need to figure things out. Any good ideas?

Anyways, without further ado, here’s my weekly looked like.

I finished those five books this week. The cosy-mysteries are all on the short side with a bit over 200 pages, but I am still happy with how much reading I got done.

Love Heart Lane ⭐⭐⭐ ⭐️⭐️
Foxglove Farm ⭐⭐⭐ ⭐️⭐️
Buttercream Bump Off ⭐⭐⭐ ⭐️⭐️
Cherry Pie or Die ⭐⭐⭐ ⭐️ (3.5 stars)
Cookies and Scream ⭐⭐⭐ ⭐️

I first picked up Love Heart Lane by Christie Barlow which I enjoyed tremendously, and immediately decided to read the next book, Foxglove Farm. As I mentioned in my reviews, Christie Barlow always has beautiful stories and dialogues up her sleeve, and her books haven’t failed to get me emotional. To be perfectly honest, I haven’t warmed up to Allie’s character completely from my initial impression in Love Heart Lane where she displayed her feisty and less forgiving traits, but I am definitely going to read the next book Clover Cottage one of these days.

Next, I picked up Buttercream Bump Off by Jenn McKinlay. One again, she had me swooning and enjoying the heck out of this book, this series is quite a gem for me. Fun and witty banter amongst the main characters had me giggle and laugh so many times. Needless to say I got the next book already!

During the weekend, I read two culinary cosy mysteries by CeeCee James. I’d had my eye on this series for so long and I finally decided to give it a go. I was a bit iffy about the first book being a bit bland but thinking the first book has an awful lot to set up, I decided to pick up the next book to see whether I would like it or not.

Glad that I gave it a second chance; I enjoyed the second book much better than the first book, and now I have added this Baker Street mystery series to my follow-up list.

As I have just finished my last book as I speak, I haven’t even had the time to pick up my next book, which leads me to…

Well, you know me – I can never stick with my weekly TBR 🤣 but I am going to pick up these three books as my TBR for the next week.
I am still in the mood for some light cosy mysteries and feel-good books, so I figure these three books fit the bill.

That’s it for today.
How was your week? What have you finished reading, what are you currently reading, and planning to read next?
Comment below and let me know 🙂

Thanks for stopping by as always, and I’ll see you in my next post.

7 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: June 14 – June 20, 2021

    1. Yes, birds chirping is music to my ears as well, I wish I were living in my own house, then I wouldn’t need to worry about my neighbours’ complaining. (They haven’t yet though.; I just wanted to be absolutely sure.)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You’ve had a great reading week Noriko!! I to had another great reading week finishing 6 books again but some of those were graphic novels just like last week. I’m still currently in the middle of several other books as well. I will being sharing my weekly post tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Misty! Regardless of the fact some of the books you finished were graphic novels, it’s still a great job you did there by finishing 6 books a week! I am definitely checking out your weekly wrap-up 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your sparrows story, Noriko. I wish I had some ideas other than just scaring them away. We’ve had issues with barn swallows, but once you scare them away a few times, they usually don’t come back. I hope you get it all figured out.

    You had a great week with reading! I’m so happy to see you’re enjoying your reads too. Hope you have another wonderful week! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Jenn! It’s kind of reassuring that swallows don’t usually come back if you scare them away a few times. I think persistence is the key! I’ll surely figure things out.

      Yes, loving what you are reading is the best feeling and I hope things will stay that way this week as well! Happy week to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment